Magoki-Attori Mosque "Mosque in the pit". The mosque acquired this name because of the foundation that has gone almost 6 meters underground. The mosque was built in the 12th century practically in the center of Bukhara on the place where the temple of fire-worshipers Mokh used to be.
Historians say that a river flowed next to the mosque and a grove grew, and around the mosque there was a bazaar where spices, medicinal herbs and wooden and clay figurines of idols of fire worshipers were sold, personifying fertility and generous harvest. It is assumed that there was a Buddhist monastery on this site earlier.
Archaeologists discovered that the building of the mosque was built on six bearing pillars and a huge twelve-domed ceiling. The main entrance was built in the form of an arch, which rested on two stone columns decorated with very intricate carvings.
Over the entire long period of its existence, the mosque has been repeatedly restored and its huge hall with two domes, restored in 1546, has survived to this day.
The portals of the mosque represent a true masterpiece of architectural art. The masonry is made of bricks-bows, there are also paired bricks decorated with terracotta mosaics and glazed bricks with glazed inserts.